In the midst of things

Starry eyes took me away
Dreams and hopes that may.

I conquered my fears and worry
So long ago, it now is blurry.

The new is exciting
Fuzzy and inviting.

But I look back to see
You’re just midway, honey!

The past doesn’t feel known
The place doesn’t feel home.

That feeling of halfway
The fear of going astray.

I shush those nags
Those pesky tags.

Losing sight of the shore
To make my own lore.

 
The prompt for Day 14 of NaPoWriMo 2017 is to write a poem that reflects on the nature of being in the middle of something.

Leave a Reply

